Interracial hook-up lines, mixed joints and babies

You should probably know that this situation was taking place in one of Copenhagen’s amazing spaces called Christiania, so you can have an idea under what circumstances people were rolling… the words. So picture a table with a bunch of international people (all Europeans) talking about different languages and people all over the world.

Me: You know, when I was 17 I told my mom I would totally have a kid with an Asian or an African man, because I read the interracial couples have the healthiest kids.

Hot Finnish Guy sitting next to me: So you wouldn’t do it with a white guy?

Me: Well of course I would do it… I am not 17 anymore. 😀

Hot Guy sitting next to me: OK, so you will have healthy kids anyway.

Me: What do you mean? Oh, wait… are you saying…

Finnish Guy sitting next: I always though East Europeans are a different race…

Me: WHAT?!

Guy next to me: But look at your color skin. You look like a turkey…

[Everyone at the table is laughing their asses off]

Me: TURKEY?! Dude, I am totally white and now I really have to reconsider my plans in getting a tan.

Not so hot Guy next to me: I just didn’t know you are white… I am sorry.

Me totally writing down this convo: …

[Everyone: Give her a moment, now she’s twitting this conversation :)))]

Finnished Guy next to me: Oh, no, please don’t get me wrong. What I am trying to say is that I thought you and I are different races… So how do interracial couples make healthier kids? How is that related to intelligence?

Me: Now I am just thinking if this is worse than that time when I met one hot dude looking totally like Ryan Gosling and he was asking me how is it like living in Denmark where everyone thinks I am a gypsy. Or that time when a Lithuanian told me he thought all Romanians are gypsies and another time a Danish guy asked me how come I don’t look like one of those gypsies. But hey, tonight I was compared to a “turkey” so you win!

I did my research on “race” topic and the fact is that when some people use the word “race” they attach a biological meaning, still others use “race” as socially constructed concept.

All races of mankind in the world can interbreed because we all share 99.99+% of the same genetic materials which means that even the biggest division of races (White/Caucasian, Mongoloid/AsianNegroid/Black and Australoid) is largely subjective. Thus I can totally do it with a white guy! Our kids will be healthy and smart anyway (well probably more fun than smart).

Norwegian girl: Seriously, Vio, you really get yourself in these weird situations. I mean, I heard your stories and read your blog, but I thought you’re making them up… Damn, girl!

Russian girl: Ahahahhahah, this conversation was so funny, I was taking notes! 

Ukrainian girl: How high are you people?

Me: Anyway, hot Finnish guy, FYI. the idea that there exist only 3 main races (White, Black and Yellow and not brownish like you thought I am) is rooted in the European imagination of the Middle Ages (just like you try to explain yourself later). Nevertheless, the history of science has long been the history of failed efforts to justify these social beliefs. Basically they started because some fancy minds tried to fashion practical human typologies based on physical axes like skin color. Any other references are for social groups. Pam, Pam! Oh, check this out! Hottest colors! Welcome to Copenhagen!

I do have friends of different races and plenty from different social groups. Here is my favourite picture with me and 2 of my besties: Miss Africa and Miss Asia ❤
Leave a Reply

